Cubeday Tuesday #1

Well, the 8 player draft that I wanted to do ended up being cancelled due to lack of time/interest. Fortunately for my first post, I had the foresight to record a three player draft.

Due to the fact that recording every card in the pack as well as my pick, I ended up scrapping that and simply recording my pick. I think I will try photos to record next time, I am still figuring out how to keep good records in a paper draft.

Since this was a 3 player draft, we did 6 packs of 9 instead of 3 of 15 to prevent excessive tabling.

P1P1: Garruk Wildspeaker: Slam pick the walker.

P1P2: Boggart Ram Gang: I just love bashing with this guy.

P1P3: Carbonize: Red removal, goes with my previous two picks

P1P4: Copperline Gorge: On color fast land, sweet.

P1P5: Assault/Battery: Decent card with great flexibility

P1P6: Petrahydrox: Maybe wont be run, but its splashable and a real pain in the ass.

P1P7: Skyshroud Claim: Mana ramp into??

P1P8: Consume Strength: I will gladly take this 2nd to last pick. It’s a decent kill/pump effect.

P1P9: Savage Lands: Bingo.

So I started out as G/R and ended up taking one black, but I certainly hadn’t committed to black yet. The nonbasic really allowed me to stay open to the possibility of black splash.

P2P1: Go for the Throat: Welp, that’s powerful.

P2P2: Creakwood Liege: Yep, I am black.

P2P3: Stormbind: I hadn’t run this card yet and wanted to see what it could do- the answer is winning.

P2P4: Hell’s Thunder: May as well punch them in the face.

P2P5: Broodmate Dragon: Tabling awesomesauce. Now I can ramp into something!

P2P6: Goblin Guide: Lolwut. This should not have come around.

P2P7: Naturalize: Offing problems is usually a good idea.

P2P8: Blackcleave Cliffs: Another on color nonbasic is great.

P2P9: Stingscourger: Am I the only red player?

This pack cemented me in red and black. I picked up a lot of quality.

P3P1: Loxodon Warhammer: I am the beatdown!

P3P2: Kulrath Knight: 3/3 flier for 5 with wither seems pretty cool.

P3P3: Goblin Wardriver: I AM THE BEATDOWN!

P3P4: Dungrove Elder: I want to make someone weep.

P3P5: Howling Banshee: This card is straight up awesome.

P3P6: Bant Charm

P3P7: Hex Parasite

P3P8: Pillory of the Sleepless

P3P9: Drowned Catacomb

This pack was rather weak for me, I am probably not going to be running many of these cards.

P4P1: Phyrexian Rager: I need some card advantage for this deck.

P4P2: Glissa the Traitor: GLORIOUS. I would love to recur Warhammer.

P4P3: Krosan Tusker: Gotta fix that mana.

P4P4: Perilous Myr: I almost always take him; trading with a 3/3 or getting a 2 for 1 is just too tempting. And I can get it back with Glissa.

P4P5: Gaea’s Anthem: Make my dudes better.

P4P6: Plated Geopede: I am the only red player.

P4P7: Flame Rift: Definitely the only red player.

P4P8: Emeria Angel

P4P9: Caves of Koilos

This pack makes it look like I am running red with only a splash of the other colors.

P5P1: Grim Lavamancer: This is a great card to crack.

P5P2: Hull Breach: Better than Naturalize.

P5P3: Evolving Wilds: FIXING.

P5P4: Harrow: FIXING.

P5P5: Barren Moor: I don’t really need that many swamps, I can turn this into a card instead of a dead draw.

P5P6: Avatar of Discord: I am not running this.

P5P7: Cultivate: FIXING.

P5P8: Llanowar Elves: Looking back at this draft, I have way more mana fixing/accel than I need.

P6P9: Spite/Malice

Well, that was interesting. I ended up with a very strong set of cards in Jund colors and the mana fixing to support the three colors. I don’t really have anything to ramp into aside from the dragon, but I do have things that I can do with mana every turn. The last pack really brought me back into green if just for the ability to support my greedy picks.

Here is the deck that I ended up winning with:

Flame Rift
Plated Geopede
Perilous Myr
Skyshroud Claim – looking back, I think that this could have been something else instead.
Llanowar Elves
Glissa, the Traitor
Broodmate Dragon
Boggart Ram Gang
Krosan Tusker
Stormbind
Assault/Battery
Cultivate
Garruk Wildspeaker
Loxodon Warhammer
Grim Lavamancer
Kulrath Knight
Stingscourger
Creakwood Liege
Goblin Guide
Go for the Throat
Carbonize
Hull Breach
Phyrexian Rager
Harrow

Copperline Gorge
Evolving Wilds
Barren Moor
Blackcleave Cliffs
Savage Lands
Swamp
Forest x6
Mountain x5

Notable cards that I ended up running were the hammer, Stormbind, and the Geopede. I wish that I had run Dungrove Elder over the Skyshroud Claim, but at the time, I didn’t think that I had enough forests to support it.

Not actually seeing what I picked over other things seems like it really hurt this post. I will try my best to better document the next draft I do. I will also try to record actual games or at least highlights.

-Andrew


					
~ by Andrew Couture on August 23, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
