Cubeday Tuesday #2

In the past week, I have hosted a couple cube drafts. The one I had on Sunday was won by our newest member, Luc Lagace. He put togeather a disgustingly fast R/B deck that swamped me in our two games. I was trying to run G/B and I felt that I had built a fairly solid deck in those colors; unfortunately, it seems that the girl to my right was also in those colors and I ended up missing out on some serious quality. My deck was pretty good, but I just couldnt put up with his burn and beats. It also didnt help that I totally failed at math and let myself die game 1. I activated my lands with Life/Death, and swung. I took him to one while I was at 13, then Inferno Titan face rolled me.

I have his deck here:

Searing Blaze
Goblin Chieftain
Firebolt
Ib Halfheart, Goblin Tactician
Carbonize
Smash to Smithereens
Grim Lavamancer
Siege-Gang Commander
Consuming Vapors
Threaten – This card killed me dead both games pretty much
Keldon Marauders
Terminate
Gatekeeper of Malakir– I don’t think I would have run this in a deck with this many mountains.
Assault/Battery
Lightning Bolt
Goblin Bushwhacker
Hymn to Tourach
Smallpox
Plated Geopede
Plague Myr– I also wouldn’t have run this
Goblin King
Doom Blade
Inferno Titan – Did you know that an Inferno Titan with 4 Mountains deals EXACTLY 13 damage to your opponent if they tap out? I do now.
Arrogant Bloodlord
8x Mountain
8x Swamp

My deck was:
Birds of Paradise
Creakwood Liege
Kitchen Finks
Briarhorn
Keening Banshee
Stupor
Mold Shambler
Ashling, the Extinguisher
Yavimaya Elder
Heartmender
Perilous Myr
Cultivate
Sword of Body and Mind
Drana, Kalastria Bloodchief
Inquisition of Kozilek
Dismember
Life/Death
Animate Dead – Stole me a Hero of Bladehold match 1 against Gage Wondrausch.
Phyrexian Arena
Stillmoon Cavalier
Okiba-Gang Shinobi
Ashenmoor Gouger– This was a mistake, because the triple black requirement was a pain in the ass
Morbid Plunder
Treetop Village
Swamp x10
Forest x6

The last draft we did was tonight, where I built a R/U combo deck around Kiki-Jiki. I beat two U/W decks, one control/combo and the other was beatdown. Emily Fernandes’s deck was pretty decent, but I feel that once again, it lacked focus- the difference between drafting a normal environment vs. the cube, is that the relative power levels of cards are much less glaring. This is a good thing for more experienced players who can craft a cohesive deck that works like a well oiled automaton, but for less experienced players, it turns into: “These are all good cards, why doesn’t my deck work?” Victor Cortes’s W/U control was pretty sweet. He first picked Venser then proceeded to build around him. He nabbed the Spine of Ish Sah and cards like Kor Hookmaster and made a really annoying lock down deck. He also picked up all the white lieges so that the rest of his cards would be pumped an annoying amount. He floored me game 1.

My deck follows:
Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker – I opened Deceiver Exarch and passed it, so I snagged this guy in case it wheeled.
Ravenous Baboons – My first pick. I was turtling on my first pack because there were several cards that I wanted to play, until someone said: “Just pick your favorite card.” So I yelled “Baboons!” And slammed it.
Fulminator Mage
Goblin Recruiter – to tutor up Kiki-Jiki and Siege-Bang depending on the current situation
Deceiver Exarch – Aw, yeah!
Stigma Lasher
Inferno Titan
Mulldrifter
Siege-Gang Commander
Manic Vandal – I passed a lot of awesome Artifacts, so I knew that I was going to need this guy. I found myself really glad to have him most of the time.
Goblin Warchief – To decrease Kiki’s cost, never got to be used effectively.
Banefire – Game 2 VS Victor, I Banefired him to 4 life. Ripped a mountain, used Valakut to hit him for 3. Cast my Recruiter, and then equipped Mortarpod for the kill. Mise.
Electrolyze
Willbender
Snap – A game against Emily went turn 3: Snap your token, then burst lightning your other guy.
Staggershock
Lightning Bolt
Carbonize
Browbeat
Preordain
Firebolt
Burst Lightning
Sword of Body and Mind– I keep opening this. It DID turn on my Shelldock Isle, which was sweet.
Mortarpod
Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle – This guy gave my deck inevitability. I used him against Emily AND Victor it turns late game land draws into explosive volcano lands!
Forgotten Cave – Probably should have been another mountain, but I needed to dig for my combo more than I needed lands, I thought.
Lonely Sandbar – All my cards only needed 1 U, so cycling this was always tasty. I only used it as a land in my first game where I was a bit mana short so I turn 1’d it.
Shelldock Isle– with 40 card decks, this guy is the best thing ever.
Island x4
Mountain x9

I am interested to see if the trend of “Red Drafters Win” continues next week. If that is true, then the other colors need some serious reworkings. I am going to try and have more highlights from now on and I am still working on setting up pick order recordings. But this is just the second article and I think this weekly column is pretty spiffy.

~ by Andrew Couture on August 31, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
