Cube Draft #3

So, this Tuesday, we held a 7 man draft. I am really not happy with odd numbers of players because it makes seating difficult and I usually take a first round bye so that the other players can get an extra game in. I am the host after all. If someone else is willing to take a free win in exchange for playing, let me know! This week, I tried recording my picks with my camera phone. It was mostly effective. I think that I can afford to do this from now on and just perfect the picture takings.

I made a U/B Reanimater/Tinker Deck:

P1P1: Phyrexian Metamorph, Stillmoon Cavalier, Carbonize, Mold Shambler, Dawnglare Invoker, Deadly Recluse, Flame Slash, Terrain Generator, Raging Ravine, Sygg River Cutthroat, Black Knight, Tumble Magnet, Necrogen Scudder, Avalanche Riders, Great Sable Stag

I was taking a long time on this pack. I really like the Metamorph, the Riders, Sygg, and Raging Ravine. I ended up settling on the Metamorph because it is awesome.

P1P2: Reanimate, Copperline Gorge, Fathom Seer, Cunning Sparkmage, Perilous Myr, Consuming Vapors, Lotus Petal, Darksteel Plate, Blackcleave Cliffs, Martial Coup, Elspeth, Knight Errant, Treetop Village, Prison Term

I ended up taking Reanimate because I wanted to build around it. I also wanted the person next to me to know that I was not interested in white- so I passed one of the best walkers of all time (the guy who passed to me opened Elspeth and JTMS in the same pack).

P1P3: Probe, Martyr of Frost, Darkslick Drake, Assault/Battery, Vines of Vastwood, Wilt Leaf Liege, Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle, Fireshrieker, Razorverge Thicket, Executioner’s Capsule, Tranquil Thicket, Growth Spasm

I took Probe here because it is awesome in Reanimator strategies.

P1P4: Foul Imp, Beastmaster Ascension, Priests of Norn, Lonely Sandbar, Glacial Fortress, Balefire Liege, Wild Dogs, Student of Warfare, Wall of Roots, Viridian Corrupter, Kemba’s Skyguard

Foul Imp is the only card I considered.

P1P5: Black Sun’s Zenith, Celestial Colonade, Skywinder Drake, Boros Garrison, Goblin Lackey, Boggart Ram Gang, Forgotten Cave, Fleshbag Marauder, Knight of the White Orchid, Azorius Herald, Search for Tomorrow

The Zenith is just too good. I did consider the Fleshbag.

P1P6: Dismember, Rishadan Cutpurse, Everflowing Chalice, Cultivate, Dark Ritual, Stormbind, Windbrisk Heights, Pillage, Seaside Citadel

Dismember pick 6 is nice, a little confusing, but nice.

P1P7: Neurok Invisimancer, Eternal Witness, Hell’s Thunder, Burst Lightning, Noggle Hedge-Mage, Rhox War Monk, Arc Lightning,  Arc Trail, and something that I cannot read

Keep cutting Blue.

P1P8: Necrogen Scudder, Terrain Generator, Great Sable Stag, Tumble Magnet, Mold Shambler, Carbonize, Raging Ravine, Stillmoon Cavalier

My original pack. I see that black is mostly open along with green and red. I took the Scudder because its awesome. I wish I had taken the Magnet. I will only hyperlink cards the first time I mention them mainly because this process takes forever.

P1P9: Perilous Myr, Darksteel Plate, Lotus Petal, Fathom Seer, Copperline Gorge, Prison Term, Blackcleave Cliffs

The Myr is just so good.

P1P10: Wilt Leaf Liege, Vines of Vastwood, Tranquil Thicket, Growth Spasm, Razorverge Thicket, Assault/Battery

Wilt Leaf Liege – Hate draft. I have some discard effects and didnt want to make myself sad.

P1P11: Lonely Sandbar, Glacial Fortress, Wild Dogs, Kemba’s Skyguard, Wall of Roots

Sandbar.

P1P12: Azorius Herald, Boros Garrison, Goblin Lackey, Forgotten Cave

Herald – cut the blue.

P1P13: Platinum Emperion, Stormbind, Seaside Citadel

Platinum Emperion- reanimation target. I didn’t see it earlier because it ended up accidentally not getting passed.

P1P14: Hell’s Thunder, Rhox War Monk

Thunder

P1P15: Raging Ravine – Last pick, really?

P2P1: Animate Dead, Izzet Boilerworks, Ashenmoor Gouger, Rot Wolf, Electrolyze, Willbender, Sphinx of the Steel Wind, Hymn to Tourach, Choking FumesContagion Clasp, Ember Hauler, 2 cards that I can’t read.

Animate Dead. Another reanimate please.

P2P2: Bloodghast, Green Sun’s Zenith, Time Sieve, Barren Moor, Ravenous Baboons, Rampaging Baloths, Lead the Stampede, Standard Bearer, Krosan Tusker, Pillory of the Sleepless, Veiling Oddity

Bloodghast fits my reanimator theme.

P2P3: Brainstorm, Comet Storm, Phantasmal Bear, Simic Growth Chamber, Life/Death, Halimar Depths, Kor Hookmaster, Shrine of Burning Rage, Lyzolda, the Blood Witch, Soul Manipulation, Explore, Lonely Sandbar (again, needs to be removed)

Brainstorm is just so good. I wish that I had taken Life/Death in retrospect.

P2P4: Conundrum Sphinx, Compulsive Research, Ashnod’s Altar, Firespout, Plow Under, Staggershock, Viscera Dragger, Nulltread Gargantuan, Seachrome Coast, Gwyllion Hedge-Mage, Caves of Koilos

The Sphinx is an efficient flier. Maybe I can abuse Brainstorm with him.

P2P5: Tinker, Blightwidow, Mind Spring, Phyrexian Rager, Sword of the Meek, Blood Ogre, Second Chance, Glissa, the Traitor, Buried Alive, Credit Voucher, Ponder

Tinker absolutely makes my deck.

P2P6: Mishra’s Factory, Knight of Sursi, Viridian Emissary, Arcane Sanctum, Broodmate Dragon, Necrotic Sliver, Scroll Thief, Blight Mamba, Sulfrous Springs, Echo Tracer

The Factory is another artifact for Tinker. Also a good blocker and can easily go on offense: A+.

P2P7: Sylvok Lifestaff, Drowned Catacomb, Goblin King, Contested War Zone, Jilt, Blastoderm, Hull Breach, Dragonskull Summit

The Lifestaff is something that I wouldn’t mind Tinkering away.

P2P8: Sphinx of the Steel Wind, Rot Wolf, Willbender, Izzet Boilerworks, Ashenmoor Gouger, Gwillion Hedge-Mage, Ember Hauler, Hymn to Tourach

As much as I hate passing Willbender… TWICE. I cannot pass the Sphinx. It is absolutely perfect for the deck. Quite a few of my turns went: Draw, discard sphinx, go. Then nex turn draw, swamp, Reanimate Sphinx.

P2P9: Barren Moor, Ravenous Baboons, Pillory of the Sleepless, Veiling Oddity, Lead the Stampede, Krosan Tusker, Geletrode

The Moor is the only card here that I want.

P2P10: Shrine of Burning Rage, Phantasmal Bear, Lonely Sandbar (again), Explore, Simic Growth Chamber, Lyzolda the Blood Witch

The Shrine tabled… Well, I am gobbling up this colorless removal that also kills people and can be tossed to Tinker.

P2P11: Caves of Koilos, Viscera Dragger, Plow Under, Firespout, Seachrome Coast

As much as I want the Dragger, I want the Caves in cast I need to hardcast things.

P2P12: Buried Alive, Blightwidow, Phyrexian Rager, Credit Voucher

Buried Alive is a gift.

P2P13: Arcane Sanctum, Broodmate Dragon, Sulfrous Springs

Sanctum is just awesome. I get the feeling that I missed out on a sexy Jund Deck though.

P2P14: Blastoderm, and something.

Derm is annoying.

P2P15: Gwyllion Hedge-Mage

P3P1: Cranial Plating, Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind, Sun Titan, Arrest, Sylvan Ranger, Smother, Reveilark, Leonin Relic Warder, Bloom Tender, Goblin Recruiter, Drana, Kalastria Bloodchief, Gaea’s Anthem, Emrakul, the Aeons Torn, Into the Roil

Well, I probably should have taken Drana, but the Cranial Plating was talking to me.

P3P2: Vampire Nighthawk, Keening Banshee, Aether Adept, Evolving Wilds, Serrated Arrows, Slagstorm, Howling Banshee, Ib Halfheart, Goblin Tactician, Cruel Ultimatum, Infiltration Lens, Jungle Lion, Naturalize, Grasp of Darkness

This pick was hard. I would have been happy with the Keening Banshee, the Aether Adept, and the Nighthawk. I took the Nighthawk, because it is just bonkers.

P3P3: Thopter Foundry, Elvish Piper, Chameleon Colossus, Plumeveil, Manic Vandal, Siege-Gang Commander, Coiling Oracle, Bloodbraid Elf, Heartmender, Harmonize, Adarkar Wastes, and one I cant read

I hated the Foundry since I had already seen the sword and there wasn’t anything else for me here.

P3P4: Akroma, Angel of Wrath, Oran-Rief, the Vastwood, Linvala, Keeper of Silence, Jungle Shrine, Searing Blaze, Golgari Rot Farm, Shrine of Loyal Legions, Pierce Strider, Hellspark Elemental, Puresteel Paladin, Sejiri Refuge, and 1 I can’t make out

I took Akroma because I like 8 mana fatties.

P3P5: Enslave, Cudgel Troll, Llanowar Elves, Skyshroud Ridgeback, Ichorclaw Myr, Flame Rift, Orzhov Basilica, Briarhorn, Steppe Lynx, Sakura Tribe Elder

Enslave is an easy pick.

P3P6: Shelldock Isle, Goblin Ruinblaster, Skinrender, Creeping Tar Pit, Stone Rain, Unearth, Phyrexian Swarmlord, Deceiver Exarch, Smash to Smithereens, Loyal Sentry

The Isle is the best card ever when there are only 40 cards in a deck and you’re trying to cast fat things. I would really have liked the Unearth, the Tar Pit, and the Skinrender.

P3P7: Precursor Golem, Curiosity, Guul Draz Assassin, Rishadan Airship, Pithing Needle, Elite Vanguard, Rancor, Terminate, Infantry Veteran

P3P8: Smother, Into the Roil, Sylvan Ranger, Reveilark, Leonin Relic Warder,  Gaea’s Anthem, Emrakul, the Aeons Torn

If Smother wasn’t so good, I would take Emrakul to stick under Shelldock Isle. Also, why did Reveilark Table?

P3P9: Keening Banshee, Evolving Wilds, Slagstorm, Howling Banshee, Ib Halfheart, Goblin Tactician, Grasp of Darkness, Cruel Ultimatum

I will take 2/2 Fliers that kill things when they enter play if you insist.

P3P10: Adrakar Wastes, Harmonize, Heartmender, Bloodbraid Elf, Coiling Oracle, Natrualize

The Wastes will help me splash Akroma…

P3P11: Pierce Strider, Jungle Shrine, Searing Blaze, Puresteel Paladin, Sejiri Refuge

The Strider is an easy pick.

P3P12: Steppe Lynx, Skyshroud Ridgeback, Sakura Tribe Elder, Qasali Pridemage

This pack is awesome. I hate on the Lynx though. I can’t afford to take damage.

P3P13: Skinrender, Creeping Tar Pit, Goblin Ruinblaster

Skinrender if you insist… I would have loved the Tar Pit, but the Render is just too good.

P3P14: Terminate, Infantry Veteran

Terminate is easy to hate on.

P3P15: Sylvan Ranger

This is a weird last pick.

My deck ended up looking pretty sweet.

The Decklist Follows:
Platinum Emperion
Buried Alive
Sylvok Lifestaff
Shrine of Burning Rage
Black Sun’s Zenith
Precursor Golem
Sphinx of the Steel Wind
Vampire Nighthawk
Enslave
Tinker
Dismember
Smother
Reanimate
Skinrender
Phyrexian Metamorph
Animate Dead
Keening Banshee
Probe
Cranial Plating
Bloodghast
Brainstorm
Perilous Myr
Akroma, Angel of Wrath
Pierce Strider

Lonely Sandbar
Caves of Koilos
Arcane Sanctum
Mishra’s Factory
Adarkar Wastes
Shelldock Isle
5x Swamp
5x Island
1x Plains

This deck easily 2-0’d I think I could have 3-0’d if I had not sat out round 1 to do some homework and just taken the bye. The only deck that this lost a game to was Victor Cortes’s R/U deck. We played an extra round because he wanted to. I demolished him game 1 with a turn 3 Sphinx of the Steel Wind that he couldn’t answer. Game 2 came down to a land that I let him take back for what he meant to do. Game 3 I lost to infinite damage. His decklist follows:

Niv Mizzet, the Firemind
Deceiver Exarch
Rishadan Cutpurse
Basilisk Collar
Manic Vandal
Kargan Dragonlord
Noggle Hedge-Mage
Electrolyze
Splinter Twin
Stone Rain
Balefire Liege
Aether Adept
Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker
Gush
Moltensteel Dragon
Phantasmal Bear
Lightning Bolt
Second Chance
Into the Roil
Cunning Sparkmage
Cryptoplasnm
Avalanche Riders
Capsize

Terrain Generator
Izzet Boilerworks
Forgotten Cave
Valakut, the Molten Pinacle
Halimar Depths
6 Mountains (I think)
6 Islands (I think)

I hope he actually ran more mountains than my guesstimate since 6 mountains only gets you one activation of Valakut.

There ended up being 3 combo players at the table. There was me with reanimator/tinker, there was exarch twin, and there was Time Sieve.

~ by Andrew Couture on September 7, 2011.

2 Responses to “Cube Draft #3”

  1. The other reason to take Metamorph 1st pick (besides the fact that he’s awesome) is that he leaves you open to any color for the next pack, since you can play him in any deck. Holding out lets you see what colors are being taken to your right, allowing you to draft the color that will net you the best deck. In cube, there pretty much has to be a bomb in the pack for me to consider anything else over Metamorph or other playable colorless cards.

Leave a Reply

 
