Cube Draft #4

This week, only 5 people ended up showing up unfortunately. There were quite a few things going on and people seem to have homework. I ended up 3-0ing with a very solid Esper control deck despite being stuck between a Jund drafter and another Esper drafter. Unfortunately, I don’t have the draft recorded this week, but
I do remember my first three picks. Pack 1 Pick 1 was Elspeth, Knight Errant, followed by Bribery, then Profane Command- 3 picks in 3 colors and they were all amazing workhorses of the deck. We ended up drafting 5 packs of 9 to compensate for the low turnout.

My deck:
Nectrotic SliverVindicate Sliver is pretty sweet. If this card tables 1 more time, I will cry.
Profane Command – This card was bonkers yesterday. I used it in one game to kill a Briarhorn and to return Nectrotic Sliver so that I could destroy my opponent’s only forest, making his Dungrove Elder a 0/0.
Timely Reinforcements – This allowed me to stabilize in game 3 against my aggro opponent who took game 2 on turn 4.
Carnivorous Death Parrot –  Cheap beater
Counterspell
Smother
Power Sink
Pilgrim’s Eye – Always important for 3 color decks to have proper fixing
Willbender
Martial Coup – This card won me 3 or 4 games over the night. Its unbelievably good.
Path to Exile
Brainstorm
Inquisition of Kozilek
Ninja of the Deep Hours
Gravedigger
Elspeth, Knight Errant – I thought you should know that Elspeth is really good, and Elspeth with Martial Coup is awesome.
Skywinder Drake
Rishadan Airship
Pillory of the Sleepless
Vampire Nighthawk
Mulldrifter – Rebuying this with the Ninja or Gravedigger was pretty big game.
Into the Roil
Bribery – I was only able to cast this once, but when I did, I grabbed a Phyrexian Swarmlord, used Elspeth to give it +3/+3 and flying then clocked him for 7 poison. Unfortunately, he answered with a Day of Judgment before I could put him at dead.
Sygg, River Cutthroat – My fliers made this card absolutely nuts.
Orzhov Basilica
Darkslick Shores
5x Island
6x Plains
4x Swamp

I have no idea why my mana is all wonky like that. I think I should have 5, 5, 5’d. I probably was just impatient and grabbed the lands slightly wrong.

~ by Andrew Couture on September 16, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
