Cube Draft 6

This draft ended pretty poorly for everyone involved, probably because we decided it would be a good idea to play after we had attended a friend’s 21st. We could not pass packs properly, or maybe we just had problems making packs in the first place. Either way, we failed at everything and every round I did not get last picks others got 2 etc. Since we only had 4 people, we ended up doing 4 packs of 9. I was also convinced that I failed miserably at passing and insisted that we pass around the “extra mystery pack” that I had sitting in front of me. I am pretty sure that it was the cards that we removed from our stacks to make the draft pods. Since we take 6 cards from 8 piles, randomize them, then remove 3 before we play. This helps ensure an even distribution of cards.

For what its worth, here is some of my pick order and my deck.

1.1: Hymn to Tourach
1.2: Shriekmaw
1.3: Executioner’s Capsule
1.4: Raging Ravine
1.5: Blackcleave Cliffs
1.6: Cruel Ultimatum
1.7: Lightning Bolt
1.8: Hell’s Thunder
1.9 Cankerous Thirst
So my pack one is pretty unfocused. I think I wanted to be Grixis Control after this pack.
2.1: Red Sun’s Zenith
2.2: Dragonskull Summit
2.3: Doom Blade
2.4: Arc Lightning
2.5: Chandra’s Outrage
2.6: Profane Command
2.7: Mimic Vat
2.8: Terminate
2.9: Missing
Pack 2 went way better for me. There were top cards in every pack that I had.
3.1: Ravenous Baboons
3.2: Grim Lavamancer
3.3: Pillage
3.4: Goblin Patrol
3.5: Drowned Catacomb
3.6: Compulsive Research
3.7: Gorehorn Minotaurs
3.8: Broodmate Dragon
3.9: Missing
4.1: Necrogen Scudder
4.2: Plated Geopede
4.3: Entomber Exarch
4.4: Firebolt
4.5: Blood Ogre
4.6: Disturbed Burial
4.7: Viscera Dragger
4.8: Boggart Ram Gang
Here my notes turn into a huge scribble and I recorded “DO NOT CARE” followed by “LAWL B/R BEATDOWN”.

My deck seems pretty straightforward:
Ravenous Baboons
Viscera Dragger
Comet Storm
Firebolt
Pillage
Gravedigger
Grim Lavamancer – he wasn’t really at home in this deck. Not enough things died and stayed dead.
Hellspark Elemental
Doom Blade
Lightning Bolt
Shriekmaw
Arc Lightning – I used this card to deal 2 to White Knight and 1 to Mother of Runes. That was sexy.
Necrogen Scudder
Red Sun’s Zenith
Shrine of Burning Rage – This got Pithing Needle‘d. I was annoyed.
Skinrender
Bonehoard
Drana, Kalastria Bloodchief
Plated Geopede
Vampire Nighthawk
Gorehorn Minotaurs
Blood Ogre
Profane Command
Terminate

Dragonskull Summit
Blackcleave Cliffs
8x Mountain
7x Swamp

I won the two matches that I played. Emily went to sleep after drafting since she prefers drafting to playing. Some highlights include me winning even after Gage Tinker‘d for Blightsteel Colossus on turn 5. I played Skinrender, shrinking it, then blocked with Skinrender, took 5 poison, then cast Profane Command for 5, dealing Gage 5 damage and reanimating Skinrender, further shrinking Blightsteel and took 2 more poison going to 7. Then I beat his face in with dudes.

~ by Andrew Couture on October 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
