Cube Draft 8

Well, yesterday was pretty sweet. The cube is getting quite a bit of acclaim from my amigos. I like that the decks that can be built are interesting and different every time. This week, we had an Esper Reanimator deck piloted by Victor, a UB Poison deck piloted by Steve, a GW Poison deck piloted by Emily, a Boros Control deck piloted by Greg, a Jund Aggro Deck piloted by Rob, an All American Planeswalker deck piloted by Austin. I piloted a pretty sweet BuG Midrange deck. I wanted to prove that not only was green a sweet color to base your deck around, it is also a pretty sexy method of splashing.
Here is the deck that I piloted to 3-0.
Chameleon Colossus – My P1P1
Briarhorn – Still a beating
Blastoderm
Rancor
Sakura-Tribe Elder
Primordial Hydra – P1P3
Plow Under – It tabled, and I was SO happy.
Cultivate
Search for Tomorrow
Bonehoard
So, I had 3 green mana fixing spells (and a Growth Spasm that I didn’t run) which let me splash the following:
Dismember (not that I actually needed the black mana)
Profane Command
Disturbed Burial
Demonic Tutor
Smother
Phyrexian Arena
Inquisition of Kozilek
Bribery – This card on turn 4 was frequently a beating. I also was passed a Damnation and yelled, “Oh yeah! Snap pick!” The card directly behind the Damnation was Bribery, so I had to sheepishly put the Damnation back into the pack and take the card that says “I win the game”. Phyrexian Metamorph
Counterspell
Forbidden Alchemy
Maelstrom Pulse
Mystic Snake
Putrid Leech
Life/Death

I also had a pretty strong mana base:
Flooded Grove
Simic Growth Chamber
Shelldock Isle
Island x3
Forest x6
Swamp x5
Once again, I probably should have had one less forest for one more swamp since I had 2 G/U fixers and no G/B.

My match history should have actually been 2-1, but I got lucky. Rob’s deck was nuts.
1.1
He leads off with a Kird Ape off of a Copperline Gorge. Then he follows up with a forest, bashes me for 2, then drops a Stormblood Berserker. I am sweating a bit as he clocks me to 13 on turn 3 after he killing my dude. Turn 4 he drops a Bear Umbra onto his Beserker. I scoop.
1.2
I lead off with a turn 3 Phyrexian Arena. I am getting pinged for damage by me and him. He drops a Shrine of Burning Rage and I am facing down inevitability from both sides- at once! However, drawing cards is pretty good I hear. I am sitting at 7. I see his shrine is at 6 counters and I frown at my Phyrexian Arena. He drops a post-combat Bloodbraid Elf and I sigh audibly as I just dodged a bullet. I am still dead on board once he untaps with his shrine set to 7. I draw, going to 6, then draw again. I rip Bribery and Maelstrom Pulse. I Pulse his shrine, then Bribery his Rampaging Baloth, drop a land, making a baloth, and then pass the turn back. Eventually, I Profane Command him and my creatures, dealing him 24 damage in one turn and its off to game 3.
1.3
This game, I dropped a Bribery, grabbing his Grave Titan, cast Rancor on it, and then cast Death, targeting Briarhorn. I bached him with an 11/9 Trample creature since I used my Zombies to block/eat kill spells. I then Profane Command him again for lethal.

I started out playing, saying, “My plan is to kill myself until I win.” It wouldn’t have worked against the pile of aggro that I faced down, but for some truly unfortunate misplays. My other matches were significantly easier since I wasn’t facing a very fast clock from my opponents as well as myself.
2.1
I played against Greg with his Boros Control deck. Game 1 wasn’t terribly interesting. It involved a Mirran Crusader against a B/G/u Deck with no lands.
2.2
I Inquisition of Kozilek’d away his Mirran Crusader, then mana ramped into Plow Under followed up by Mystic Snake then a Briarhorn (I love flash creatures).  I closed out the game with a Primordial Hydra set to 5. He played Sun Titan, rebuying Standard Bearer, but he had to block my 10/10 trampling Hydra and was sad.
2.3
I could have either turn 1 Inquisition of Kozilek, or suspend Search for Tomorrow. I chose to suspend. Turn 2, I could either play a bounce land or cast Inquisition of Kozilek. I chose to bounce. His turn 3 sees a Mirran Crusader, and I kick myself since I can’t actually kill it. My Search for Tomorrow resolves, I grab a swamp, play Inquisition of Kozilek, take something, but I leave him with Burst Lightning. I then drop another land, and pass the turn. I rip and play Demonic Tutor, almost grabbing a Phyrexian Metamorph to deal with his Mirran Crusader, but I remember his Burst Lightning. I change my mind and grab a Bribery, figuring that if I cant kill his Crusader, he probably can. I take another 4 from his Crusader, then pass the turn back. I play Bribery, Almost taking his Sun Titan, but I realize I don’t have anything to get back. Then I almost take his Baneslayer Angel since I am at 6 life, but then, I see the God-Card. I grab his Akroma, Angel of Wrath. I clock him for 6 and pass the turn, then I play Blastoderm and he knows that he is in trouble. I untap, play a forest, then cast Life, allowing me to swing for lethal after Dismembering his leveled-up Student of Warfare during his end step.
3.1
I mulliganed to 5. All I did for the first 3 turns was generate mana then I played Forbidden Alchemy, grabbing Chameleon Colossus which I then played. Rancour’s U/B Contolling Infect deck couldn’t really deal with pro black, and he lost pretty handily.
3.2
I played a turn 2 Putrid Leech vs his turn 2 Bloodghast. I then enchanted it with Rancor, and started bashing away, racing his Vampire Nighthawk and his Bloodghast (Yes, he was a poison deck, I don’t know why he was running Bloodghast and not using the Nighthawk for defense. I guess it was just inexperience. It takes a while to get used to the idea that attacking isn’t always better than sitting tight and watching what your opponent does). Anyway, I followed up my Rancor’d up Leech with a Blastoderm and a Briarhorn to put away the lethal damages.

~ by Andrew Couture on October 10, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
