Once More Into the Breach

Working full time, playing full time, sleeping part time.

I am not yet a “grinder,” I have my plans on initiating the grind in the near future, but for now, I am simply a wannabe wannabe. However, I do play Magic 5 nights a week now. Wednesday- Standard, Thursdays- Modern, Friday- Standard, and Saturday- Standard. I also try to work in a cube draft whenever I can, but those have been falling flat for the last couple weeks.

I work 40 hours a week selling PCs and PC accessories (yes, I sell Macs too, but those don’t work as well with the King of the Hill joke). And, since I am playing 5 tournaments a week, each being approximately 4 hours, I do not have a whole lot of free time, especially since when I am not at work, I am busy staying current on metagames and testing.

This post is not so much about Magic as it is about [my] life. I feel like I am at a crossroads. On one path lies the scheduled “adventure” of a grinder, and on the other is the scheduled routine of the semi-competitive. Every choice that I have made for the last two years has been to try and land the WotC dream job. I feel like I have made some progress, but I am still so far from Renton.

I apologize for the lack of updates to this semi-derelict blog, but updating this is rather low on my list of priorities.

Here is my tentative Schedule for the GTC PTQ season into summer:

PTQ: San Antonio
PTQ Lubbock (God I hope not)
GP San Diego (Maybe)
GP Houston
GP Vegas

Here I stand, on the raggedy edge.
-Andrew

~ by Andrew Couture on January 30, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
